Register for a free trial
Tanker Shipping & Trade

Tanker Shipping & Trade

Marine Propulsion Awards are now open for voting

Wed 07 Mar 2018

Marine Propulsion Awards are now open for voting

Online voting is now open to choose the winners of the 2018 Marine Propulsion Awards, which will be presented during Riviera Maritime Media’s Sulphur Cap 2020 Conference in Amsterdam on 17-18 April. Voting will remain open until 0900 UK time on Monday 19 March.

Full details of the awards can be found here and there are links from there to the voting pages, where details of the innovations that are in line for the awards are summarised.

Entries were received from 13 countries across Europe, the Middle East, North America and Asia and each one was reviewed by an independent judging panel of leading industry experts. Their feedback was combined to identify a shortlist of three for each of five categories and these are now available online for a final public vote. The results of the online vote will be combined with the judges’ rankings to select the eventual winners.

The awards will be presented during a gala dinner on 17 April, the first day of the conference.

The shortlisted companies, in alphabetical order, are:

Efficiency Improvement Award: MAN Diesel & Turbo, Schottel, Wärtsilä

Emissions Reduction Award: APATEQ, Sovcomflot, WinGD

Innovation Award: GEPS Techno, Parker Kittiwake, Thordon Bearings

Marine Intelligence Award: NAPA, Naval Dome, WinGD

Ship of the Year Award: FinFerries, Shell, Sovcomflot

A Graduate Research Award will also be presented; the winning entry has been assessed by one of the judging panel: John Carlton, professor of marine engineering, School of Engineering and Mathematical Sciences, City University London. In addition, the staff of Marine Propulsion will make an award to their chosen Industry Leader Award winner.

Paul Gunton, executive editor of Riviera Maritime Media, has overseen the award scheme and urged Marine Propulsion readers to use their vote. “The judges have had their say, now it’s time for the rest of us to recognise these leaders in technical innovation,” he said.

Recent whitepapers

Related articles





Knowledge bank

View all